Tuesday, March 18, 2014

OSSA 4 ANCHOR: The Seven Holy Virtues

Peter Joined The Church For Holy Laughter

The Seven Holy Virtues

The Four Cardinal virtues, from ancient Greek philosophy, are

Prudence - ability to judge between actions with regard to a
ppropriate actions at a given time - book, scroll, mirror
(occasionally attacked by a serpent)

Justice - the perpetual and constant will of rendering to each one his right - sword, balance and scales, crown and the sword

Temperance (or Restraint) - practicing self-control, abstention, and moderation; tempering the appetition - wheel, bridle and reins,
vegetables and fish, cup, water and wine in two jugs

Courage (or Fortitude) - forbearance, endurance, and ability to confront fear, uncertainty and intimidation - armor, club, with a lion, palm, tower, yoke, broken column

The Three Theological virtues are

Faith - belief in God, and in the truth of His revelation as well as
obedience to Him - cross, pointing upward, staff and chalice, lamp, candle

Hope - expectation of and desire of receiving; refraining from despair and capability of not giving up. The belief that God will and forever be eternally present in every human’s life and never giving up on His love - anchor, harp, flaming brand, palm

Charity (or Love) - a supernatural virtue that helps us love God and our neighbors, more than ourselves - flaming heart, with children, gathering fruit

No comments:

Post a Comment