Tuesday, March 18, 2014

OSSA 3 GOAT: The Seven Deadly Sins

PALE Goats Win Sins

The Seven Deadly Sins

They were translated into the Latin of Western Christianity (largely due to the writings of John Cassian) thus becoming part of the Western tradition’s
spiritual pietas (or Catholic devotions), as follows:

Gula (gluttony)
Fornicatio (fornication, lust)
Avaritia (avarice/greed)
Superbia (hubris, pride)
Tristitia (sorrow/despair/despondency)
Ira (wrath)
Vanagloria (vainglory)
Acedia (sloth)

These “evil thoughts” can be categorized into three types:

lustful appetite (gluttony, fornication, and avarice)
irascibility (wrath)
intellect (vainglory, sorrow, pride, and Discouragement)

In AD 590, a little over two centuries after Evagrius wrote his list, Pope
Gregory I revised this list to form the more common Seven Deadly Sins,
by folding (sorrow/despair/despondency) into acedia, vainglory into pride, and adding envy. In the order used by Pope Gregory, and repeated by Dante Alighieri (1265-1321) centuries later in his epic poem The Divine Comedy, the seven deadly sins are as follows:

Superbia - Pride - Peacock
Avaritia - Avarice / Greed - Toad
Luxuria - Lust - Goat
Invidia - Envy - Snake
Gula - Gluttony - Pig
Ira - Wrath - Lion
Acedia - Sloth / Discouragement - Snail

No comments:

Post a Comment